What's the definition of stroke?

According to Meriam Webster, the verb Stroke means to rub gently in one direction. The noun stroke means the act of striking, a single unbroken movement, a sudden action or process producing an impact, an unexpected result, sudden impairment or loss of consciousness, sensation, and voluntary motion