Can you eat the black seeds in a watermelon?

The black seeds in a regular watermelon are just plain old seeds. They're mature, fertile seeds, so if you planted a few in the ground, they would indeed sprout into watermelon plants. While they're thought to be too hard and therefore inedible, they are actually completely safe to consume.