What is the history of the bermuda triangle?

The area referred to as the Bermuda Triangle covers about 500,000 square miles of ocean off the southeastern tip of Florida. When Christopher Columbus sailed through the area on his first voyage, he reported that a great flame of fire (probably a meteor) crashed into the sea one night.