What is copper poisoning?

In biology, poisons are substances that can cause death, injury or harm to organs, tissues, cells, and DNA. So if you are poisoned with copper, that means you have ingested too much of the metal. Copper toxicity can result from long-term exposure to contaminated food and water sources.