What do the english call a cigarette?

Many years ago cigarettes were traditionally made with a thin layer of cork covering the filter to prevent lips sticking to the paper - Tobacco companies stopped using cork and used paper that looked like cork instead. These were colloquially called “fakes”, “fags” is a bastardisation of the word.