Can you substitute cream of mushroom for cream of chicken?

For the cream part of the soup either soup would operate the same way. Cream of mushroom soup has a much stronger taste than cream of chicken while cream of chicken has much more salt. So, you can substitute the soups but the flavor of the dish will be changed.