Is howdy doody dead?

TV PIONEER 'BUFFALO BOB' SMITH, HOST OF 'HOWDY DOODY,' DIES AT 80. "Buffalo Bob" Smith, whose "Howdy Doody Show" was a founding program of children's television and must viewing for young baby boomers nationwide, died of cancer July 30 1998 at a hospital in Henderson, N.C. He was 80.