What's the difference between wet and dry macular degeneration?

Dry Macular Degeneration is more common and less severe. Wet Macular Degeneration always begins as the dry type. Early detection and treatment of Wet Macular Degeneration may help reduce vision loss and, in some instances, recover vision.