What does corn grow on?

Corn grows on a stalk. One dried and treated corn kernel produces a stalk. Each stalk can produce several cobs. While growing, stalks produce tassels at the top. Wind blows grains from the tassel and drops them on the silks to produce new corn kernels within the husks. Each silk creates one kernel.