Is fortnite a two player game?

Yes, but you need two devices that have Fortnite on it.

---

Fortnite Save the World can be played as a 1 person campaign, or multiplayer up to 4 people. Fortnite Battle Royale, the more popular version, is played against up to 99 other people online, either by yourself or in teams of two, three, or four, called Duos, Trios, and Squad Mode respectively.