How do you tell the difference between a alligator and a crocodile?

Some differences are the alligators prefer freshwater, crocodiles prefer salt water. Alligators have wide, U-shape noses, crocodile noses are pointed V-shape. Alligators are found in southeast U.S. and in China, crocodiles are found worldwide. Adult crocodiles are longer than adult alligators.