What does the e. stand for in ebay?

eBay was founded in California on 1995, by Pierre Omidyar, but it wasn't always called that. It's name was changed to eBay in 1997 which is an acronym for Echo Bay Technology Group. The "e" simply stands for Echo in the company name, despite the common assumption, that the "e" stands for electronic.