What's an american nationalist?

American nationalist can be a person who is a patriot. On the other hand, it can mean someone who is RADICALLY pro-American. That in itself can have a negative connotation, depending on who is using the term. In our current politically charged climate, it could mean a “right-wing” nationalist.