What's the substitute for the herb thyme?

If you're out of thyme, substitute an equal amount of savory, marjoram, or oregano. This will come closest to the intended flavor. If you don't have any of these herbs on hand, poultry seasoning, Herbes de Provence, or Italian seasoning will also work, since these spice blends all contain thyme.