What is annatto seasoning?

Annatto is an orange-red condiment and food coloring derived from the seeds of the achiote tree, which is native to tropical America. It is often used to impart a yellow or orange color to foods, but sometimes also for its flavor and aroma. Best used to flavor rice, or in fish or meat marinades.

---

Annatto is an orange-red food coloring made from seeds of the achiote tree from tropical regions in South and Central America .