Is karl marx a communist?

Karl Heinrich Marx, (1818–1883), was a German philosopher, critic of political economy, economist, historian, sociologist, political theorist, journalist, and socialist revolutionary. Together with his writing partner Friedrich Engels, Marx essentially invented communism.