What was the first u. s. war?

In Revolutionary War the America fought Britian (with French aid) to gain independence from the tyrant King George. The war began in 1775 with the battle of Lexington and Concord but there were many skirmishes prior to 1775 in colonial America including the famous Boston Massacre in 1770.