Why do raccoons eat garbage?

Raccoons eat garbage (food scraps) from unsecured trash cans because it’s easy pickings once they learn it’s available. They will also eat your non-garbage food supplies when you are camping if it’s left unattended and not secure. Some raccoons have learned that humans mean there’s food nearby.

---

Raccoons are opportunistic eaters and will scavenge on pretty much any kind of food. Since they are omnivores, berries, fruit, eggs, lizards, crustaceans, fish, wild birds, domestic poultry, and garbage scraps are their main source of food.