How did tom riddle become voldemort?

He became a dark wizard when he was in Slytherin, and since he was named after his muggle father he decide to change his name from "Tom Marvolo Riddle" to "Voldemort". The transformation into his monstrous state is believed to have been the result of dividing his soul into Horcruxes.