Does wine have salt in it?

Not much. Wine does contain a negligible amount of salt, though only enough to classify it as a very low-salt beverage. A 5-ounce serving of merlot offers approximately 5 milligrams of sodium, while the same-sized serving of chardonnay contains 7 milligrams of sodium.