What types of white noise are there?

White noise refers to a noise that contains all frequencies across the spectrum of audible sound in equal measure. There are many approximations of white noise- radio static, a rotary fan, or a hair dryer. By attenuating certain frequencies you also have other “colors” of broad spectrum noise.