Why did the irish war of independence start?

Irish nationalists in the Irish Parliamentary Party had been demanding Home Rule or self-government from Britain. The British Parliament passed the Government of Ireland Act 1914 but it was postponed due to WW1. Citizens opposed to Ireland joining the war revolted to gain independence from Britain.