What is a phrasal verb definition?

In English traditional grammar, a phrasal verb is the combination of two or three words from different grammatical categories – a verb and another element, such as an adverb or a preposition – to form a single semantic unit on a lexical or syntactic level

---

It's an idiomatic phrase consisting of a verb and another element, typically either an adverb, as in break down, or a preposition, for example see to, or a combination of both, such as look down on.