Why is crystal so expensive?

The health risks of lead mean that much of todays lead glass is actually manufactured with substitutes for lead which makes true lead glass more valuable due to scarcity. Some companies (such as Swarovski and Waterford) still use real lead which is why their crystal is so expensive.