How long does it take for a car seat to expire?

Most car seats have the date of expiration stamped on the manufacturer label located on the sides or the base of the car seat. Alternatively, it might show the date of manufacture. Generally, a car seat will expire 6 years after the date of manufacture. Only a few may be good for longer than that.