Was charlie chaplin a communist?

Charlie Chaplin was accused of being a communist by senator Joseph McCarthy. In 1942, Chaplin said, “I am not a Communist, but I am proud to say that I feel pretty pro-Communist”. He seems to have continued to feel this way until his death, though he never joined the party.