Is there a chocolate in red velvet cake?

Red velvet cake is traditionally a red, maroon, crimson, or scarlet colored chocolate layer cake, layered with white cream cheese or ermine icing. Common ingredients include buttermilk, butter, cocoa, vinegar, and flour. Beetroot or red food coloring may be used for the color.