Are banana peppers and peppercinis the same?

Both of these peppers have a terrific taste, but there is a slight difference. Banana peppers are mild, sweet, & tangy, while pepperoncini are mild, sweet, & slightly bitter. But, if you sub one for the other in a recipe, it won't impact the recipe much at all, unless you are stuffing the peppers.