What is the difference between a kayak and a canoe?

Canoes tend to be open top. The rowers kneel inside the canoe, or sit inside if there are small benches, which there often are, and propel themselves forward using a single-bladed paddle. In contrast, kayaks are closed-deck, with a hole in the middle for the pilot to climb into and sit in.