Which city is bigger tokyo or new york city?

Tokyo is the most populated metropolitan area in the world, so it's appropriate that it's much larger than NYC in terms of land area. Still, it's noteworthy that Tokyo is SO large that its population density is 15,604 people per square mile, as compared to New York's 27,578 people per square mile.