Is it okay if a potato is green?

A green potato means that it has been exposed to too much light. It's the production of chlorophyll which most plants produce and is not harmful, but It's not ALWAYS safe to eat green potatoes because they may contain a toxic substance called solanine which can cause nausea and vomiting.