Are green potatoes dangerous to eat?

Some cut their losses and toss the green potatoes, while others remove the green spots and use them anyway. However, green potatoes are more than just undesirable, they can also be dangerous. The green color and bitter taste that potatoes occasionally develop can indicate the presence of a toxin.