What does app gar stand for?

The Apgar score is a test given to newborns soon after birth. This test checks a baby's heart rate, muscle tone, and other signs to see if extra medical care or emergency care is needed. The test is usually given twice: once at 1 minute after birth, and again at 5 minutes after birth.