Where does the name jayhawks come from?

According to the internet, its origin is rooted in the historic struggles of Kansas settlers. The term "Jayhawk" was probably coined about 1848. The name combines two birds-the blue jay, a noisy, quarrelsome thing known to rob nests, and the sparrow hawk, a stealthy hunter.