Where did the name twinkies come from?

Twinkies were invented on 04/06/1930 at the Continental Baking Company in River Forest, IL. The bakery manager came up with the name, inspired by a billboard he saw painted on a barn for Twinkle Toe Shoes. The Continental Baking Company was purchased by Hostess and ran for 82yrs.

---

James A. Dewar, a manager of the Continental Baking plant in Illinois, concocted the Twinkie by filling a shortcake with a sugar and cream mixture. He came up with the name based on an advertisement for “Twinkle Toe Shoes.”