What is chiffon?

According to Wikipedia, Chiffon is a lightweight sheer fabric, or gauze, like gossamer, woven of alternate S- and Z-twist crepe yarns. The twist in the crepe yarns puckers the fabric slightly in both directions after weaving, giving it some stretch and a slightly rough feel.