What is cars made out of?

Steel is the most common material in the typical car, as it has been for almost 100 years. Strong and relatively inexpensive, steel is an alloy of iron and carbon containing less than 2% carbon and 1% manganese and small amounts of silicon, phosphorus, sulfur, and oxygen.