Are plantains and bananas the same thing?

Plantains and bananas are genetically similar, but plantains are primarily eaten cooked. ... Plantains are usually larger and tougher than bananas, with much thicker skin. They may be green, yellow, or very dark brown. Plantains are starchier than bananas and not very sweet when green.