What's the history of oktoberfest?

Oktoberfest started as an annual festival in Munich Germany. Held over 2 weeks, it ends on the first Sunday in October. The festival originated on Oct 12, 1810, to celebrate the marriage of the crown prince of Bavaria, who later became King Louis I, to Princess Therese von Sachsen-Hildburghausen.