Why are the white cliffs of dover white?

The White Cliffs of Dover are made of white chalk composed of finely grained pure limestone, or calcium carbonate. Because the cliffs are allowed to erode naturally, they remain white. If protected, like in the Port of Dover, plant life begins to grow and the cliffs no longer appear white.