Why do dogs get into the trash?

Because it smells so good! Dogs are legendary for being able to smell tiny amounts of anything and humans, according to dogs, are legendary for throwing away delicious treats like bacon wrappers. Being in the trash means nothing to a dog, except easier access. Habit plays a part so stop it asap.