How do you cook great northern beans?

Soak the dry beans overnight in enough water to completely cover them, mixed with a teaspoon of baking soda. When they have swelled, drain and rinse them. Then cook in enough broth to cover them for about an hour. As they cook, You can add vegetables, seasonings and more liquid if needed.