Is m. o. x. a word?

Yes, "MOX," spelled M-O-X, is considered a real word in English. It's short for "mixed oxide fuel," a mixture of plutonium oxide and uranium oxide, used as nuclear fuel. (When written, it's almost always in all capital letters.)