Why do people blush?

People blush as part of an involuntary reaction to feeling embarrassed or nervous. This results because of the brain's release of adrenaline. When adrenaline is released a person's heart rate speeds up, and blood vessels dilate. A person's facial veins dilating result in the blush, or redness.