Why did brad pitt and angelina jolie get divorced?

There was an incident on a flight from France to the States in September 2016; Brangelina immediately went their separate ways upon deplaning. Rumours that what occurred on the alcohol-fueled flight is what ended the couple’s marriage seemed confirmed by Pitt in a later interview with GQ.