Where does soap come from?

Soap is a manmade product. You need a caustic chemical - modern soap is made with lye - and oil or fat. Always wear protective clothing because lye is dangerous! Add the lye into your fat or oil so it doesn't explode like a volcano. It will become very hot very fast, too. Mix well and mold into bars