What are dogs of war?

The dogs of war is a phrase spoken by Mark Antony in Act 3, Scene 1, line 273 of English playwright William Shakespeare's Julius Caesar: "Cry 'Havoc!' , and let slip the dogs of war." The phrase is a metaphor comparing war to a pack of ferocious dogs.