What is the difference between people and persons?

Many usage guides over the years have suggested that there is a clear distinction between these two words; people is used when referring to a collective group or indeterminate number, and persons serves better when referring to individuals (or a number of individuals).

---

The word people is used in the general context while the word persons are used most often in formal contexts.