What is the movie adaptation?

Adaptation was a 2002 American meta-comedy drama film directed by Spike Jones written by Charlie Kaufman the film stars Nicolas Cage Meryl Streep and Chris Cooper with Kara Seymour Brian Cox Tilda Swinton Ron Livingston and Maggie Gyllenhaal and supporting roles