Where did the saying an apple a day keeps the doctor away come from?

Origin. A variant of the proverb,"Eat an apple on going to bed, and you'll keep the doctor from earning his bread" was recorded as a Pembrokeshire saying in 1866.Current phrasing, "An apple a day keeps the doctor away", began usage at the end of 19th century, with early examples found early as 1887.